DIY Halloween Costumes: Kiddie Edition

Halloween is one of my favorite holidays. My friends always tease me about my love for Halloween because I am the girl that begins thinking of her next year’s costume the morning of November 1st. Of course I love the spooky decorations and visiting haunted houses but nothing excites me more than a truly clever costume. What I appreciate even more is a handmade costume. When I was a toddler, my mother always made my costumes herself. With the help of a pair of scissors, needle and thread and ample yards of felt, she managed to transform me into a bumblebee, little red riding hood, and a puppy. These costumes were then passed down to my brother and my boy cousins who all sported the same felt drab as I had when I was a baby. Unfortunately, as I grew up, I became very unoriginal with my costumes choices; for five consecutive years, I was some variation of a witch. Last year I finally set aside the time to make my costume from scratch. My boyfriend and I decided to do a couples costume; he would be a fisherman and I would be “his catch.” The process was very in depth (and slightly more expensive than I had expected) but the product was more than I had hoped for. It felt good to be able to say “I made my costume myself.”

Being that it is getting close to Halloween, I’ve spent quite some time looking at Halloween costume ideas all over the internet. Yet as much as I try to focus on myself, I can’t help but admire all the adorable, handmade kid costumes posted on the web. In a way, it reminds me of my own childhood and all the countless hours it took my mom to make my Halloween costumes each year. With that being said, I’ve decided to compile a list of some of my favorite kiddie Halloween costumes. Some are more complex and others are simple, but they are all adorable nonetheless!

Image

Little Miss Sunshine
(what better way to show off your shining little star!)

Image

Owl
(comfy, cute and shabby chic!)

Image

Spooky Ghost
(the tulle helps make this costume add some feminine flair)

Image

Carl from Up!
(a classic copy of one of my favorite Disney films)

Image

The Ice Cream Man 
(this costume was built around the child’s wheelchair!)

Image

Popcorn Vendor
(this is an adorable costume for a mommy and her newborn!)

Image

Mad Scientist
(and let’s be honest, what kid wouldn’t love a beaker filled of gummy worms)

Image

Spelling Bee
(dress your child as the cutest and smartest bee on the B-L-O-C-K!)

Image

Audrey Hepburn
(an adorable play on a Hollywood Icon)

Image

Spaghetti and Meatballs
(because everyone loves a happy, well fed baby)

Image

Ventriloquist Baby
(a fantastically clever, yet sorta creepy, Daddy and baby costume)

Photo Credit from:
RealSimple
Pinterest

