Color Splash: Honeysuckle Yellow

Someone once told me that yellow is commonly used in restaurants and fast food joints because it stimulates hunger. I don’t know if many other people know about the hidden psychology behind the color yellow, but I’ve noticed that it has become a very popular kitchen color in recent years. In fact, my mother painted our kitchen yellow about three years ago and I’ve fallen in love with it ever since. Despite this, however, I believe yellow is a beautiful color that can be utilized in a variety of ways throughout a home. For me, yellow is a color that can signify happiness, joy and energy. I particularly love when large, window filled spaces are painted yellow because it can help open up any room. At the same time, yellow can also help brighten up a smaller space and make it appear larger.

Image Source: Better Homes and Gardens

Image Source: Southern Living

Image Source: Better Homes and Gardens

 

At the same time, yellow can also serve as a wonderful accent color because it can make a space bright and cheerful. I’ve been to several home decorating stores such as Pier One, Home Goods, etc. and I’ve noticed yellow pillows have become increasingly apparent. However, there are many other examples of accent pieces that look fabulous in the color yellow.

Image Source: Pinterest

Image Source: Tumblr

Image Source: Conspicuous Style

Image Source: Centsational Girl

Image Source: Anthropologie

 

Yellow is also a great color for upholstery, pillow cases and rugs. Yellow patterns can help add color to a neutral room  as well as make a living space, bedroom or entryway more warm and inviting.

Image Source: Pinterest

Image Source: Joss and Main

Image Source: Blogspot

 

Do you have a room in your home with yellow accents? Share your ideas below about using the color yellow as a decorative tool!

 

 

 

 

 

 

