Date-In-A-Jar

If you’re anything like me, you probably spend a decent amount of your spare time thinking up cute, romantic gestures for your significant other. And if you’re anything like me, you’re probably extremely indecisive when it comes to thinking up clever date ideas. My boyfriend and I have come up with so many fun outing ideas (ie. zip-lining, visiting a brewery, etc.) yet we usually settle on dinner and a movie or watching Workaholics until we fall asleep. So while I was browsing Pinterest, I came across a clever idea called “Date-In-A-Jar,” which consists of pre-made dates already thought out and planned for us to choose from. And since I am moving to Boston, I figured I should take advantage of the city’s ample opportunities for clever date venues.

After a trip to the Dollar Tree with my mom, I realized that this craft is extremely affordable for anyone looking to “spice up” their date life. I managed to purchase a Mason Jar for $1 and 150 popsicle sticks for $1 as well. Here’s how to make your own Date-In-A-Jar:

Craft Tools Needed:
1. Mason Jar
2. Popsicle Sticks
3. Paint
4. Permanent Pen
5. Decorating Tools (ie. Ribbon, Fabric, Colored Paper, etc.)

Instructions:

1. Dip the ends of popsicle sticks in paint. Use three different colored paints to distinguish between the three different kinds of dates; stay at home dates, cheap dates and expensive dates. I used 60 popsicle sticks in total – 20 per date type – but you can use as many as you’d like.

2. Once the paint dries, use a pen to write down different date ideas on the popsicle sticks. Here are some great websites for clever date ideas:

Redbook Magazine
Nifty Date Ideas
She Knows Love
The Dating Divas

3. Decorate the mason jar however you’d like! Since my boyfriend’s favorite colors are red and blue, I stuck with a red, white and blue theme. Once it’s decorated, you can enjoy a date with your significant other. Enjoy!!

